Dog Friendly Yurts in Colorado

One of my ventures in ‘retirement’ is working as a Project Consultant for GreenPlay, LLC, a recreation & park master planning firm based in Lafayette, CO.  From time to time, I need to travel out there for meetings, and I usually add a few days onto the trip to play in the mountains and rivers in “Colorful Colorado”.

My wonderful hosts, Teresa and Kurt are great outdoor adventure enthusiasts – we usually find time to soak in a hot springs (or two), and go downhill skiing, bicycling or river rafting. And they have two wonderful dogs, Rio, the hyrbrid protector, and Lucky, the cutest blind Westie on the planet.

Photo Credit: CO State Parks

It recently occurred to me to check out the Colorado Yurt Situation in advance of my next GreenPlay trip.  Turns out there are yurts available in 6 state parks, and most of them are dog friendly! The fees are reasonable, $10/night extra for the privilege of bringing your canine pal along for the ride. In researching on the Colorado State parks website, I was also thrilled to learn about the yurts at Ridgeway State Park, in the same town as one of my favorite hot springs locales – Orvis Hot Springs.  There’s nothing like a restful soak in the healing mineral waters of a hot springs – that’s the one advantage Colorado has over my native New Hampshire.

So the next time I take a business trip out west, we have a new place to explore – I’ll keep you posted.

About yurt adventures

We love yurts, traveling and an active lifestyle, and would like to introduce others to the interesting and memorable possibilities that open up when you choose a yurt adventure.
This entry was posted in Dog Friendly Yurts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

