Massage – Yurt Style

image source: yurt4u.com

image source: yurt4u.com

I recently began pursuing a certificate in Massage Therapy at the River Valley Community College in New Hampshire. It’s been wonderful matriculating as a ‘non-traditional’ student, learning an ancient healing modality. The benefits of massage are numerous, and I’m a lifelong proponent of the practice of therapeutic touch. I recall with a satisfied sigh the amazing massage and steam bath cleanse I had in Treasure Beach, Jamaica in a circular stone hut – somewhat like a yurt, in fact.

So the time has come to design my ideal practice – the space, location, types of massage to offer. I have a business plan. I have marketing materials. One area of focus will be health and wellness massage for active senior populations in local retirement communities. I figure, in a few years, I’m going to be an active senior, so I may as well learn from the best. And I’ve decided that I will also pursue offering massages in a yurt. I’m not sure where, or how, I’ll achieve this, but it’s definitely my sincere intention.

image source: exhaleretreat.com

image source: exhaleretreat.com

When I googled ‘massage in yurts’ to explore how other massage therapists might be implementing this idea, I came across a massage therapist in Pennsylvania who has achieved exactly what I’m hoping to. A yurt located in a lovely forest setting where clients receive a massage to the sounds of nature’s musical accompaniment. It turns out yurts are used for massage and other healing modalities as a matter of course around the country, and they’re often located in the most beautiful outdoor (four season) settings. Last summer I gave an outdoor massage to a friend, and it’s an entirely different experience from being indoors – one that I really love, and so did my friend.

We know that the circular shape of a yurt invites a calm and centered feeling, and has its roots in the ancient nomadic traveling experiences of the Mongolian people, who lived close to the land. Massage + Yurts. Two ancient practices, melded together for healing and connecting with nature. Sounds to me like a match made in heaven.

About yurt adventures

We love yurts, traveling and an active lifestyle, and would like to introduce others to the interesting and memorable possibilities that open up when you choose a yurt adventure.
This entry was posted in yurt living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

